Without love,

life is a journey through a desert. John Miller

the picture at my side

Posted by thesinger on May 22, 2007

Yes, I was feeling tired, and dirty, with a very weird hairstyle, so I got my sis to shoot a picture for me. I then decided that this picture would be a great portrait picture for my blog. 🙂

The background for this image is that I had just come home from an exhausting day of cleaning bins and rouging wheat. Cleaning bins is not a particularly pleasant job. It is dusty, involves physical labor, and can be EXTREMELY stinky and smelly. So, I and Kenneth Shenk, my fellow laborer, cleaned four bins in three hours from 8 to 11 AM. From 11 to 12 I rouged some wheat with Loyal, Ian, (another fellow laborer) and Kenneth. This was some of the nicest rouging that I have every done; it was cool with a nice breeze, and it felt so clean and refreshing to be out of a stinky bin for a change.

Dinner was also a very nice time. Taco Salad was on the menu. And it was Good with a capital G.

Alas, dinner was over far too soon and it was again time to go rouging. This time, we hit some bigger fields and the conditions weren’t quite as nice. So, in other words, instead of enjoying the out of doors, it turned into just work. No more, no less; just work.

It was windy. And in Kansas, when it’s windy, it’s dusty. This created the interesting hairdo that I am sporting in the portrait above. I also drove our 4-wheeler from field to field which helped, I’m sure. 🙂

Rouging is a form of work which generally turns into an endurance race. In any given day, it is average to walk 10 miles or more in difficult conditions. This is why rouging is something that I do because it’s a part of my job, not because its a joywalk.

I must run. My bed is singing to me, “Come home, Come home. Ye who are weary come home.”

thesinger

6 Responses to “the picture at my side”

  1. LOL!

  2. elsalgal91 said

    ooooooh, be still my fast beeting heart! that is like such a WOW hairdo!!!! i think you should keep it…
    I don’t envy you walking 10 miles that’s for sure. lastnight kv and i went to the grocery store and walked back loaded down. i was quite ready to be home. 😛 and no, it wasnt close to 10 miles of walking, fortunately.

  3. Verda said

    Isn’t that sacrilegious to say that your bed is singing, “Ye who are weary come home”?

  4. Hey funky work hairdo buddy! I can’t say as I’m terribly jealous of rogueing, but I guess it’s good that there are still strong, courageous young men who put their boots on in the mornings and charge the fields to quell the onslaught of the rye army. Enjoy thy work in the days of thy youth, for one day ye shall grow old and feeble and fat and beest not able to work thy hindquarters off as a steer in a feedlot growing fatter and drawing nearer to death every day. That was brilliant.

  5. When I get big, I’m gonna get hair like that!!

  6. thesinger said

    *Smile* Thanks for your responses. To answer Verda’s question, I first want to establish the meaning of the word sacrilegious. It means: Sacrilege is in general the violation or injurious treatment of a sacred object. In a less proper sense any transgression against the virtue of religion would be a sacrilege. It can come in the form of irreverence to sacred persons, places, and things. (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sacrilegious)

    My main question in this situation is a song a sacred object? If it is, than yes, it is sacrilegious. If it isn’t sacred, than no, it is not sacrilegious.

    I would tend to lean towards the side that views this song and most other songs as being not sacred. Because of this viewpoint, I do not feel that abusing song lyrics is sacrilegious. I have answered your question according to how I feel about this issue. If you disagree, or have further comments, I am very open to more discussion.

    thesinger

Leave a Reply

 
