Without love,

life is a journey through a desert. John Miller

I AM A MILLER!!!!

Posted by thesinger on January 1, 2008

And I can has eat FAST! Last night at our new years eve party (for the youth), we were to required to join in a ice cream speed eating contest. I was ok with it, but had no idea that I would place like I did. The rules stated that your hands had to be behind your back at all times and that you had to lick your plate as clean as possible.

First, a before picture.
d-001.jpg

Then a picture in the middle of the battle.
d-002.jpg

And a proud winner of the first round.
d-003.jpg

The committee for the evening made the youngest ten go first, the next oldest ten go in the second round, and the “oldest set” in the last round. Jdeany won the second round, and I’m proud that my dear brother Craig, (also a trueblooded Miller), won the last round.

(In case you haven’t caught on yet, the Miller family that lives in this area is well known for our voluminous intake of ice cream.)

Ok, so up to that point, I was fairly ok with winning. You know, what can come of this except good? Then when they told us three finalists to sit down at the table to “receive our prizes”, then I started smelling the fish. . .
d-021.jpg

As you can see, they gave us three guys all a dish of cold, slimey, disgusting, abominable, awful, beastly, cloying, creepy, detestable, distasteful, foul, frightful, ghastly, gross, gruesome, hateful, hideous, horrid, horrific, icky, loathsome, lousy, nasty, nauseating, objectionable, obnoxious, odious, offensive, outrageous, repellent, repugnant, repulsive, and revolting spaghetti. You get the idea?
Before:
d-021.jpg

During:
d-022.jpg

And after:
d-025.jpg

Yes, even though “it” (I can’t bear to say that gross word) almost stuck in my throat many times in the course of those x amount of seconds, I did overcome and won that contest hands down. The actual prize was actually very appetizing; two Dove bars of chocolate. One was “Rich Dark Chocolate” and the other was “Sweet Milk Chocolate with Almonds.” (Craig and Jdeany each received one bar.) I was very happy to prove my “Millerness” in this way.
d-026.jpg

Yes, the evening was just filled with good times. Yes, we were singing We’ve Got the Power in the Name of Jesus as the clock struck 12:00 AM. Yes, I enjoyed the evening immensely.

Peace be da journey,

thesinger

ps. I AM A MILLER!!!!!

15 Responses to “I AM A MILLER!!!!”

  1. Mmmmm…… Mmmmm….. Cold, clammy, gross spaghetti.

  2. thesinger said

    Right. Oh, and credits for the pics goes to Craig. Thanks man.

  3. wildflowerdays said

    millers are…
    (i’ll keep it to one word)
    **wonderful.

  4. Kevin said

    I’m glad that your glad that your a Miller.

  5. […] *EDIT* John has written a excellent post in which he goes into much more detail. Check it out.  […]

  6. Marvin Mast said

    Great post!

  7. sheri said

    duuuude, that is epic as ryan would say. love all the spaghetti sauce splattered on the face in large quantities!!

  8. comes softly said

    nicely put…i think i’m feeling ill

  9. random thinker said

    way to be a “rockin” Miller. random thinker

  10. random thinker said

    thats all good and all, but if you think about it, I got to party a whole hour longer in 2007 then you did 🙂 random thinker

  11. thesinger said

    actually, I’d like to point out that you got started partying a whole hour later in 2007 than I did. So, no, you actually didn’t get to party a whole hour longer than I did. 🙂

  12. Cathy MILLER said

    I agree with “wildflowerdays”!!
    Millers…. ahhhhhhhh
    Ice Cream…. ahhhhhhh

  13. random thinker said

    that would all depend on when you started to party. My party started at 8:00 and went to about 2:30am, I would maybe think that I was still partying hard when the lights went out at your place 🙂 🙂 anyhow, make sure that your year 2008, is full of great parties ( you can always make up for what you didn’t do that night) peace out. random thinker PS. by the way I like drove by your place on I-70 today. 😦

  14. mikey said

    I must say I’m a bit disappointed. No ice cream or spagetti dripping from both eye sockets, both ears, nose, forehead, etc etc.
    Anyway…still looked like fun.
    Congrats to all the winners 🙂

  15. thesinger said

    Yes, Random Thinker, not to be critical, dainty, fastidious, fault-finding, finicky, fussy, particular, or picky, but what I said in a previous comment about having started one hour later than I did, simply meant because you are in MST, you started 2007 one hour later than we did. Therefore, we had exactly the same amount of party time in 2007. “Shaf-ted”

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

 
